Whilst taking a look around Castle Road Bargain Alley, a local aladdin’s cave, I noticed a shoebox on the floor. Curiosity got the better of me so I took a closer look. Inside were a collection of 8mm home movies from the 1960’s. I was intrigued by the titles, so bought them and had the footage processed.

I’ve begun to utilise this found footage as a visual source and inspiration for a series of short music videos, here’s the first…

An experimental script created in p5.js – Three squares represent three elements of the audio track and move randomly around the screen. The location of the square determines the playback speed (and pitch) and volume of the audio element. The script was developed from Daniel Shiffman’s Walker script from The Nature Of Code. I’ll be uploading a browser version…

Fieldwork is a album of ambient, atmospheric, experimental music. Sometimes reminiscent of leftfield ambient electronica, broken beats and dubby grooves, sometimes taking influences from Synthwave sounds and 80’s electronic soundtracks.

All of the tracks on Fieldwork have a different starting point, some coming from field recordings, some developed from analog synth jams, some have their groundings in atmospheric sound-beds created for theatre productions. Although created in different ways, on different software platforms and with a distance of 10-years between starting the oldest track and completing the newest, they unite as a whole to create an immersive sonic experience.

I thought I’d create an alias for this release. Mustapha Bière sounds a little more exotic than Matthew Greasley, and is also a cheeky reference to one of my hobbies! Artwork for Fieldwork is by long-term musical collaborator and artist Ben Holmes, who resides in Donegal, Ireland. More of Ben’s work is available from http://www.benholmesart.com/

Fieldwork is available as a limited edition, hand-numbered cassette as well as digital download via https://tapedujour.bandcamp.com/releases


  1. Choke
  2. Drillin’
  3. Jenny
  4. Sinthool
  5. Glorious
  6. Super8
  7. Bedouin
  8. Amphitheatre

The cassette features all tracks on both sides..

I’ve created a small label as an outlet to release some music. I wanted to produce something physical that the listener can hold in their hand, something tangible. I have chosen as the primary medium the humble cassette. Cassettes are inexpensive, easy to produce and allow regular releases to be possible in a way that is less possible with vinyl.

The label is called Tape du Jour. I’m hoping to release something new around 6 times a year. The first release is called Fieldwork. There’ll be more to follow soon but here’s the first release on Bandcamp:

Incidentally, there’s a recent documentary on the growing popularity on cassette labels here:

[Launch Meow-Meow]

Meow-Meow is a rhythm creator which uses cat sounds as its source.

5 sample can be toggled using the 16-step grid at the bottom of the device. Once triggered the filter and pitch of these sounds can be manipulated by dragging on the cat images at the top of the device.

Meow-Meow is an experiment created using Processing and does not function well on a mobile browser. I’m hoping to re-write this using p5.js in the future, with extra functionality and a more mobile-friendly structure.

Meow-Meow was originally created as coursework for the Creative Programming for Digital Media & Mobile Apps course run by the University of London. You can play with it here.