Fieldwork is a album of ambient, atmospheric, experimental music. Sometimes reminiscent of leftfield ambient electronica, broken beats and dubby grooves, sometimes taking influences from Synthwave sounds and 80’s electronic soundtracks.

All of the tracks on Fieldwork have a different starting point, some coming from field recordings, some developed from analog synth jams, some have their groundings in atmospheric sound-beds created for theatre productions. Although created in different ways, on different software platforms and with a distance of 10-years between starting the oldest track and completing the newest, they unite as a whole to create an immersive sonic experience.

Artwork for Fieldwork is by long-term musical collaborator and artist Ben Holmes, who resides in Donegal, Ireland. More of Ben’s work is available from

Fieldwork is available as a limited edition, hand-numbered cassette as well as digital download via


  1. Choke
  2. Drillin’
  3. Jenny
  4. Sinthool
  5. Glorious
  6. Super8
  7. Bedouin
  8. Amphitheatre

The cassette features all tracks on both sides..

Meow-Meow is a rhythm creator which uses cat sounds as its source.

5 sample can be toggled using the 16-step grid at the bottom of the device. Once triggered the filter and pitch of these sounds can be manipulated by dragging on the cat images at the top of the device.

Meow-Meow is an experiment created using Processing and does not function well on a mobile browser. I’m hoping to re-write this using p5.js in the future, with extra functionality and a more mobile-friendly structure.

[Launch 4×4]

4×4 takes four found sounds and allows them to be manipulated by dragging around the screen to change pitch and filter elements of the sound.

Visually, circular patterns and colour textures are created based on the amplitude of the sounds, with different colours representing each sound.

4×4 was created using Processing and was originally created as coursework for the Creative Programming for Digital Media & Mobile Apps course run by the University of London. You can play with it in your browser here

[Launch four_CVI]

four_CVI is an interactive audio-visual composition created using clips from the Fairlight CVI video unit (courtesy of VJ Zoo) and some 8-bit audio samples. The video and the audio can both be manipulated within the browser, with video highlighted dependant on cursor location and audio speed and amplitude manipulated using x/y location data.

It was created within Processing and was originally created as coursework for the Creative Programming for Digital Media & Mobile Apps course run by the University of London. You can play with it here.

Here’s a couple of videos showing a custom performance interface using Pure Data as an audio and video sample player, combined with a gaming joystick, an iPad and Leap Motion as input controllers. Here’s what’s going on…

Pure Data – a patch constructed of a drum sample player, a video mixer and a sequencer.
Joystick – controlling visual effects and sequencer control through junXion.
iPad – sequencer control using a TouchOSC interface.
Leap Motion – Control of reverb and delay parameters using GecoMIDI.